Me and Mountains

I’m currently re-watching an old favorite of mine, The Sound of Music.

Fun Fact: I have a BIG weakness for musicals.

Anyway. If you’ve ever seen the movie, or even if you haven’t seen it, you’re probably familiar with the opening scene, where Julie Andrews is running through a field, singing The Hills Are Alive. 

This is going to sound really corny, but that opening scene is a PERFECT representation of how I feel when I’m in the mountains.

When I was a little girl, and I would visit my grandparents in Colorado Springs, my grandfather would point to Pikes Peak and say, “See that mountain, there? That’s your mountain.” And I would go around and tell anyone who would listen that Pikes Peak was actually my mountain, and that my grandfather had given it to me.

Adorable, right?

Some of my fondest childhood memories take place in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado, camping and hiking with my family. Everyone has that special place, and no matter where they go, they can return to it and feel at home and happy. That special place, for me, is the mountains.

I know that no matter where I go, or what I do, for the rest of my life I will always hold a special place in my heart for the Colorado mountains.

Where’s your special place?

photos above found here, here, here, here, here, and here

One comment

  1. Colorado has some lovely mountains. I lived in Fort Collins for years and loved it. My favorite mountains, though, are the Grand Tetons outside of Jackson Hole. Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

