and the Word of the Day is…..

Entschuldigen Sie!

Or, Excuse me! in German.

If you’ve ever heard German spoken before, you know what I mean when I say that it’s a very strong language. A person really can’t sound weak or timid when speaking it. In German, a lot of syllables are pronounced in the back of the throat, making for a language that can sound very guttural.

I love German, and because of my family (there’s a lot of German going on in my family), I feel a personal, familiar connection to the language.

That being said, I’m certainly not fluent. I’m not even proficient. I spoke some when we lived there, but I’ve lost just about all of it at this point. That doesn’t stop me, however, from enjoying the words I do know.

Like entschuldigen sie (ent-SHOOL-de-gen zee).

For when EXCUSE ME, SIR just isn’t cutting it, and you really need to get somewhere.

P.S. I’ll be posting more Words of the Day every week or so. Keep a look out for ’em!

P.P.S. Stay tuned for a post on some tasty German family recipes!!

Leave a Reply

