Us and Geography

Apparently, we Americans don’t know our geography all too well.

See here.

here.

and here.

I have no idea how real/accurate that last video is. I sincerely hope it’s a dramatization.

Still, it’s a little sad, dontcha think?

Some might call it a failure of the educational system, and while I think that’s a conversation worth having, that’s not what this post is about.

To be fair, I think there might be another reason as to why we can’t seem to tell Iran from India, or Sri Lanka from Sudan.

Geographically speaking, we’re quite isolated.

We’ve got Canada to the north, Mexico to the south, and oceans on either side. That’s about it. So I can understand why knowing your geography might not at first appear to be so pressing an issue.

But it is. Oh, it is.

At the very least, we should be able to find the countries that play a major role in our foreign policy.

And while we as Americans tend to get a bad rep about our geography knowledge (or lack thereof), it’s not like we’re the only ones who struggle with the subject.

If you never have, I challenge you to take a Countries of the World quiz online (like this one!). The first time I took one, I got an abysmally low score. But it gave me some perspective on how much more I have to learn about the world.

You, too, might be surprised at how little geography you actually know. And, who knows, you might even gain a little perspective in the process.

At the very least, you’ll have something new to procrastinate with. 

 

Leave a Reply

